Board of Governors

to Why HFU?

The Board of Governors supports the university, assumes responsibility in strategic terms, decides on structural and development planning and proposes measures to raise the profile and increase performance and competitiveness. It supervises the management of the Board of Executives. The Board of Governors can comment on strategic matters of the university to the Ministry of Science at any time; the Ministry of Science can request opinions from the Board of Governors.


External members:

  • Dr. Julia Mohrbacher, Institute of Microsystems Engineering - IMTEK, Chair of Micro- and Materials Mechanics, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
  • Birgit Schaer, Diözesan-Caritasverband Freiburg
  • Dirk Schallock (Chair)
  • Sylvia Scholz, Job Centre, Rottweil - Villingen-Schwenningen
  • Henriette Stanley, Schwarzwald-Baar-Heuberg Economic Development Agency

Internal members:

  • Prof. Dr. Volker Bucher
  • Dr. Katharina Buß
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Kallmann
  • Prof. Dr. Eva Kirner
  • Prof. Dr. Olaf Neiße

MWK Representative:

  • Dr. Matthias Schenek, Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts

Equal Opportunities Officer

  • Prof. Dr. Marianne Andres

Advisory members

  • Dr. Alexandra Bormann, President
  • Andrea Linke, Head of Administration