Current information from HFU about the Corona virus:

Cooperation partners

HFU is continually expanding its cooperation network for doctoral programmes. We are currently offering doctoral opportunities with the following cooperation partners:

Mechanisms of Microstructure Generation (GenMik)

This doctoral programme is run in cooperation with the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Freiburg. Currently 14 candidates are taking part in this programme, 6 of whom are doing their research at HFU in the fields of engineering and material sciences. The programme is funded by the state of Baden-Württemberg. Doctoral students receive a scholarship and are also part of the research teams at IMTEK and HFU.


Prof. Dr. Ulrich Mescheder
Institute for Applied Research (IAF)
Faculty of Mechanical and Medical Engineering
Furtwangen University
Tel: 49 (0)7723 920-2232
Email application is started:mes(at)

Prof. Dr. Holger Reinecke
IMTEK, Faculty of Engineering
University of Freiburg
Tel: 49 (0)761 203-7351
Email application is started:holger.reinecke(at)

University of Plymouth, UK, Centre for Security, Communications & Network Research (CSCAN)

Research is being carried out in the area of business information systems and internet services and security. HFU is involved in several projects in this doctoral programme. As doctoral research is carried out in the areas of business information systems and computer science, the main partners at HFU are the Faculties of Business Information Systems and Computer Science.

Prof. Dr. Martin Knahl
Faculty of Business Information Systems
Furtwangen University
Tel: +49 (0)7723 920-2241
Email application is started:martin.knahl(at)

Professor Steven Furnell
Head of School of Computing and Mathematics
University of Plymouth, UK
Tel: +44 (0)1752 586-234
Email application is started:S.Furnell(at)

Further joint doctorates are carried out in close cooperation with: the Université de Haute-Alsace, France; Edinburgh Napier University in Edinburgh, Scotland; and the Johannes Kepler Universität Linz, Austria. Graduates of our university have also been accepted for doctoral programmes at other universities such as: TU Dresden; the University of Stuttgart; and the TU und LMU in Munich.