Current information from HFU about the Corona virus: www.hs-furtwangen.de/coronavirus

Dates and deadlines

Semester calendars

Academic year

SemesterLecturesExaminationsLecture-free period
Summer semester 2020Originally: Mon, 16 Mar - Fri, 3 Jul 2020
Changed to: Mon, 20 Apr - Fri, 17 Jul 2020
Originally: Mon, 6 Jul - Fri, 24 Jul 2020
Changed to: Mon, 20 Jul - Fri 7 Aug 2020

Changed: No Whitsun break (Tue, 2 Jun - Sat, 6 Jun 2020) Lectures will be held during the week after the Whitsun public holiday on Monday.
Changed: Mon, 10 Aug - Fri, 25 Sep 2020

Winter semester 2020/21

Originally: Mon, 28 Sep 2020 - Fri, 22 Jan 2021

Changed to:

More information to follow

Mon, 25 Jan - Wed, 10 Feb 2021Wed, 23 Dec 2020 - Wed, 6 Jan 2021

 

Semester dates in detail

Summer semester 2020

Semester begin (formal): Sunday, 1 March 2020

Re-enrollment for Summer Semester 2020: online in Studi-Portal from Monday, 27 January until Sunday, 1 March 2020

Deadline for payment of semester fees: Saturday, 15 February 2020

Enrollment for new students: Monday, 2 March until Monday, 9 March 2020

 

Lectures begin:

Lecture begin postponed from 16 March until 20 April 2020 due to Corona pandemic.

 

Registration for resits, electives, additional courses and mandatory courses taken ahead of schedule: 20 April - 30 April 2020

List of examination dates posted at the Examinations Office: To be advised

Lectures end: Friday, 17 July 2020

Examination period: from Monday, 20 July until Friday, 7 August 2020

Semester end (formal): Monday, 31 August 2020

Winter Semester 2020/21

More information to follow.

Summer Semester 2021

Semester begin (formal): Monday, 1 March 2021

Freshers Programme for 1st semester students: Monday, 15 March and Tuesday, 16 March 2021

Lectures begin:

  • 2nd semester and higher: Monday, 15 March 2021
  • 1st semester TUT: Tuesday, 16 March 2021
  • 1st semester VS and Fu: Wednesday, 17 March 2021

Lectures end: Friday, 2 July 2021

Examination period: from Monday, 5 July until Friday 23 July 2021

Semester break:
Tuesday, 6 April 2021 (after Easter)
Tuesday, 25 May until Saturday, 29 May 2021 (Whitsun)

Semester end (formal): Tuesday, 31 August 2021

Winter Semester 2021/22

Semester begin (formal): Wednesday, 1 September 2021

Freshers Programme for 1st semester students: Monday, 4 October and Tuesday, 5 October 2021

Lectures begin:

  • 2nd semester and higher: Monday, 4 October 2021
  • 1st semester TUT: Tuesday 5 October 2021
  • 1st semester VS and Fu: Wednesday, 6 October 2021

Lectures end: Friday, 29 January 2022

Examination period: from Monday, 31 January until Wednesday 18 February 2022

Semester break:
Friday, 24 December 2021 until Friday, 7 January 2022

Semester end (formal): Monday, 28 February 2022

School holidays in Baden-Württemberg

Year   

Easter   Whitsun   Summer   Half-term/Fall

Christmas

20206 - 18 Apr2 - 13 Jun30 Jul - 12 Sep26 - 30 Oct23 Dec - 9 Jan
20216 - 10 Apr25 May - 5 Jun29 Jul - 11 Sep2 - 6 Nov23 Dec - 8 Jan
202219 - 23 Apr7 - 18 Jun28 Jul - 10 Sep2 - 4 Nov21 Dec - 7 Jan
202311 - 15 Apr30 May - 9 Jun27 Jul - 9 Sep  

                
Schools have 3 - 5 additional days of holiday at their disposal which they can take as required.