Dates and deadlines

Academic year

SemesterLecturesExaminationsLecture-free period
Winter Semester 2022/23Tue, 4 October 2022 - Fri, 27 January 2023Mon, 30 January - Wed, 15 February 2023Fri, 23 December 2022 - Sat, 7 January 2023
Summer Semester 2023Mon, 13 March - Fri, 30 June 2023Mon, 3 - Fri, 21 July 2023Tue, 11 April 2023
Teu, 30 May - Sat 3 June 2023
Winter Semester 2023/24Wed, 4 October 2023 - Fri, 26 January 2024Mon, 29 January - Wed, 7 February 2024 und Thu, 15 February - Fri, 16 February 2024Sat, 23 December 2023 - Sat, 6 January 2024
Summer Semester 2024Mon, 18 March - Fri, 5 July 2024Mon, 8 July - Fri 26 July 2024Tue, 2 April 2024
Tue, 21 May - Sat, 25 May 2024

 

Semester dates in detail

Summer Semester 2022

Semester begin (formal)Tuesday, 1 March 2022
Re-enrollment for Summer Semester 2022 online in the Studi-PortalMonday, 31 January - Tuesday 1 March 2022
Deadline for bank transfer of semester feesTuesday, 15 February 2022
Matriculation for new studentsfrom Tuesday, 1 March 2022 (see Letter of Admission)
Welcome programme for 1st semester studentsMonday, 14 March 2022

Lectures begin:

  • 2nd semester and higher
  • 1st semester
Monday, 14 March 2022
Tuesday, 15 March 2022
Submission of corrected teaching load lists and electivesby Friday, 1 April 2022
Registration for resits, electives, additional courses and mandatory courses taken ahead of scheduleMonday, 4 April - Tuesday, 12 April 2022
Submission of examination dates to Examinations Officeby Thursday, 14 April 2022
Continuous posting of examination dates at Examinations OfficeMonday, 16 May - Monday, 30 May 2022
Lectures endFriday, 1 July 2022
Examination periodMonday, 4 July - Friday, 22 July 2022

Submission of grades to Examinations Office

  • From 1st and 2nd weeks of examinations
  • From 3rd week of examinations

 

by Friday, 22 July 2022
by Friday, 29 July 2022

Semester breaksTuesday, 19 April 2022 (after Easter)
Tuesday, 7 June - Saturday, 11 June 2022 (Whitsun)
Semester end (formal)Wednesday, 31 August 2022

Winter Semester 2022/23

Semester begin (formal)Thursday, 1 September 2022
Deadline bank transfer of semester feesMonday, 15 August 2022
Re-enrolment for Winter Semester 2022/23 online in the Studi-portalMonday, 4 July - Tuesday, 1 September 2022
Enrolment of new studentsThursday, 1 - Friday, 9 September 2022 (see Letter of Acceptance)
Welcome programme for 1st semester studentsTuesday, 4 October 2022

Lectures begin:

  • 2nd semester and higher
  • 1st semester Tuttlingen + Freiburg
  • 1st semester Furtwangen + Schwenningen
  • Midwifery Science:
    • 1 semester: Monday, 19 September 2022
    • 3 semester: Monday, 10 October 2022
  • Tuesday, 4 October 2022
  • Wednesday, 5 October 2022
  • Thursday, 6 October 2022
Registration for resits, electives, additional courses and mandatory courses taken ahead of scheduleMonday, 24 October - Monday, 31 October 2022
Submission of corrected teaching load lists and electivesby Friday, 21 October 2022
Submission of examination dates to Examinations Officeby Friday, 4 November 2022
Examination dates posted by Examination Officeby Monday, 5 December 2022
Return of list of electives to deansby Friday, 20 January, 2023
Lectures endFriday, 27 January 2023
Examination periodMonday, 30 January 2023 - Wednesday, 15 February 2023
Submission of grades to Examination Office

from 1st and 2nd examination weeks - by Monday, 13 February 2023

from 3rd examination week - by Friday, 17 February 2023

Semester breaksFriday, 23 December 2022 - Saturday, 7 January 2023
Semester end (formal)Wednesday, 28 February 2023

Summer Semester 2023

Semester begin (formal)Wednesday, 1 March 2023
Re-enrolment online for Summer Semester 2023 in Studi-PortalMonday, 30 January - Wednesday, 1 March 2023
Welcome programme for 1st semester studentsMonday, 13 March + (Furtwangen + Schwenningen only) Tuesday, 14 March 2023

Lectures begin:

  • 2nd semester and higher
  • 1st semester Tuttlingen + Freiburg
  • 1st semester Furtwangen + Schwenningen
  • Monday, 13 March 2023
  • Tuesday, 14 March 2023
  • Wednesday, 15 March 2023
Lectures endFriday, 30 June 2023
Examination periodMonday, 3 July - Friday 21 July 2023
Semester breaksTuesday, 11 April 2023 (after Easter)
Tuesday, 30 May - Saturday, 3 June 2023 (Whitsun)
Semester end (formal)Thursday, 31 August 2023

Winter Semester 2023/24

Semester begin (formal)Friday, 1 September 2023
Welcome programme for 1st semester studentsWednesday, 4 + (Furtwangen + Schwenningen only) Thursday, 5 October 2023

Lectures begin:

  • 2nd semester and higher
  • 1st semester Tuttlingen + Freiburg
  • 1st semester Furtwangen + Schwenningen
  • Wednesday, 4 October 2023
  • Wednesday, 4 October 2023
  • Thursday, 5 October 2023
Lectures endFriday, 26 January 2024
Examination periodMonday, 29 January 2024 - Wednesday, 7 February 2024 and Thursday, 15 February - Friday, 16 February 2024
Semester breaksSaturday, 23 December 2023 - Saturday, 6 January 2024
Semester end (formal)Thursday, 29 February 2024

School holidays in Baden-Württemberg

Year   

Easter   Whitsun   Summer   Half-term/Fall

Christmas

202219 - 23 Apr7 - 18 Jun28 Jul - 10 Sep2 - 4 Nov21 Dec - 7 Jan
202311 - 15 Apr30 May - 9 Jun27 Jul - 9 Sep30 Oct - 3 Nov23 Dec - 5 Jan
202423 Mar - 5 Apr21 - 31 May25 Jul - 7 Sep  

Schools have 3 - 5 additional days of holiday at their disposal which they can take as required.