Dates and deadlines

Academic year

SemesterLecturesExaminationsLecture-free period
Winter semester 2019/20Mon, 30 Sep 2019 - Fri, 24 Jan 2020Mon, 27 Jan - Fri, 14 Feb 2020Mon, 23 Dec 2019 - Fri, 3 Jan 2020
Summer semester 2020Mon, 16 Mar - Fri, 3 Jul 2020Mon, 6 Jul - Fri, 24 Jul 2020

Tue, 14 Apr 2020
Tue, 2 Jun - Fri, 5 Jun 2020
Mon, 6 Jul - Fri, 25 Sep 2020

Winter semester 2020/21Mon, 28 Sep 2020 - Fri, 22 Jan 2021Mon, 25 Jan - Wed, 10 Feb 2021Wed, 23 Dec 2020 - Wed, 6 Jan 2021

 

Semester dates

Winter semester 2019/20

Semester begin (formal): Friday, 1 September 2019

Freshers Programme for 1st semester students: Tuesday, 1 October and Wednesday, 2 October 2019

Lectures begin:

  • 2nd semester and higher Monday, 30 September 2019
  • 1st semester TUT Wednesday, 2 October 2019
  • 1st semester VS und Fu Friday, 4 October 2019

Lectures end: Friday, 24 January 2020

Examination period: from Monday, 27 January until Friday, 14 February 2020

Semester break:
Monday, 23 December 2019 until Friday, 4 January 2020 (Christmas)

Semester end (formal): Saturday, 29 February 2020

Information for Faculties:

  • Submission of corrected list of lecturers and electives by Friday, 18 October 2019
  • Submission of examination dates to Examinations Office by Thursday, 31 October 2019
  • Submission of list of electives to deans by Friday, 17 January 2020
  • Submission of examination grades to Examinations Office: from 1st and 2nd examination week, by Friday, 14 February 2020; from 3rd examination week, by Friday, 21 February 2020

Summer semester 2020

Semester begin (formal): Sunday, 1 March 2020

Re-enrollment for Summer Semester 2020: online in Studi-Portal from Monday, 27 January until Sunday, 1 March 2020

Deadline for payment of semester fees: Saturday, 15 February 2020

Enrollment for new students: Monday, 2 March until Monday, 9 March 2020

Freshers Programme for 1st semester students: Monday, 16 March and Tuesday, 17 March 2020

Freshers welcome event:

  • Schwenningen: Monday, 16 March, 8.00am
  • Furtwangen: Monday, 16 March, 10.30am
  • Tuttlingen: Monday, 16 March, 2.00pm

Lectures begin:

  • 2nd semester and higher: Monday, 16 March 2020
  • 1st semester TUT: Tuesday, 17 March 2020
  • 1st semester VS and Fu: Wednesday, 18 March 2020

Registration for resits, electives, additional courses and mandatory courses taken ahead of schedule:
from Monday, 6 April until Wednesday, 15 April, 2020

List of examination dates posted at the Examinations Office: Monday, 18 May 2020

Lectures end: Friday, 3 July 2020

Examination period: from Monday, 6 July until Friday, 24 July 2020

Semester break:
Tuesday, 14 April 2020 (after Easter)
Tuesday, 2 June until Friday, 5 June 2020 (after Whitsun)

Semester end (formal): Monday, 31 August 2020

Information for Faculties:

  • Submission of corrected list of lecturers and electives by Friday, 3 April 2020
  • Submission of examination dates to Examinations Office by Friday, 17 April 2020
  • Submission of list of electives to deans by Friday, 26 June 2020
  • Submission of examination grades to Examinations Office: from 1st and 2nd examination week, by Friday, 24 July 2020; from 3rd examination week, by Friday 31 July 2020

Winter Semester 2020/21

Semester begin (formal): Tuesday, 1 September 2020

Freshers Programme for 1st semester students: Thursday, 1 October and Friday, 2 October 2020

Lectures begin:

  • 2nd semester and higher: Monday, 28 September 2020
  • 1st semester TUT: Friday, 2 October 2020
  • 1st semester VS and Fu: Monday, 4 October 2020

Lectures end: Friday, 22 January 2021

Examination period: from Monday, 25 January until Wednesday 10 February 2021

Semester break:
Wednesday, 23 December 2020 until Tuesday, 5 January 2021

Semester end (formal): Sunday, 28 February 2021

School holidays in Baden-Württemberg

Year   

Easter   Whitsun   Summer   Half-term/Fall

Christmas

2019    

15 - 27 Apr11 - 21 Jun29 Jul - 10 Sep28 - 30 Oct

23 Dec - 4 Jan

2020    

6 - 18 Apr2 - 13 Jun30 Jul - 12 Sep26 - 30 Oct23 Dec - 9 Jan
20216 - 10 Apr25 May - 5 Jun29 Jul - 11 Sep2 - 6 Nov23 Dec - 8 Jan
202219 - 23 Apr7 - 18 Jun28 Jul - 10 Sep2 - 4 Nov21 Dec - 7 Jan
202311 - 15 Apr30 May - 9 Jun27 Jul - 9 Sep  

                
Schools have 3 - 5 additional days of holiday at their disposal which they can take as required.