Dates and deadlines

Semester calendars

Academic year

SemesterLecturesExaminationsLecture-free period
Summer semester 2019Mon, 18 Mar - Fri, 5 Jul 2019Mon, 8 Jul - Fri., 26 Jul 2019Tue, 23 Apr 2019
Tue, 11 Jun - Fri, 14 Jun 2019
Mon, 29 Jul - Fri, 27 Sep 2019
Winter semester 2019/20Mon, 30 Sep 2019 - Fri, 24 Jan 2020Mon, 27 Jan - Fri, 14 Feb 2020Mon, 23 Dec 2019 - Fri, 3 Jan 2020
Summer semester 2020Mon, 16 Mar - Fri, 3 Jul 2020Mon, 6 Jul - Fri, 24 Jul 2020

Tue, 14 Apr 2020
Tue, 2 Jun - Fri, 5 Jun 2020
Mon, 6 Jul - Fri, 25 Sep 2020

Winter semester 2020/21Mon, 28 Sep 2020 - Fri, 22 Jan 2021Mon, 25 Jan - Wed, 10 Feb 2021Wed, 23 Dec 2020 - Wed, 6 Jan 2021

 

Semester dates

Summer semester 2019

Semester begin: (formal) Friday, 1 March 2019

Matriculation of new students: from Wednesday, 6 March until Tuesday, 12 March 2019

Re-enrollment for Summer Semester 2019: online in Studi-Portal from Monday, 28 January until Friday 1 March 2019

Freshers Programme for 1st semester students: Monday, 18 March and Tuesday, 19 March 2019

  • Villingen-Schwenningen, Monday, 18 March, 8.00am
  • Furtwangen, Monday, 18 March, 10.30am
  • Tuttlingen, Monday, 18 March, 2.00pm

Lectures begin:

  • 2nd semester and higher Monday, 18 March 2019
  • 1st semester TUT Tuesday, 19 March 2019
  • 1st semester VS and Fu Wednesday, 20 March 2019

Registration for resits, electives, additional courses and mandatory courses taken ahead of schedule:
from Monday, 8 April until Monday 15 April, 2019 (Please note: registration for language courses, labs, block seminars, etc. are subject to other regulations and earlier dates)

List of examination dates posted at the Examinations Office: Monday, 20 May 2019

Lectures end: Friday, 5 July 2019

Examination period: from Monday, 8 July until Friday, 26 July 2019

Semester break:
Tuesday, 23 April 2019 (after Easter)
Tuesday, 11 June until Friday, 14 June 2019 (after Whitsun)

Semester end (formal): Saturday, 31 August 2019

Re-enrollment for Winter Semester 2019/20 online in Studi-Portal: from Monday, 8 July until Sunday, 1 September 2019

For faculties:

  • Submission of corrected list of lecturers and electives by Friday, 5 April 2019
  • Submission of examination dates to Examinations Office by Thursday, 18 April 2019
  • Submission of list of electives to deans by Friday, 28 June 2019
  • Submission of examination grades to Examinations Office: from 1st and 2nd examination week, by Friday, 26 July 2019; from 3rd examination week, by Friday 2 August 2019

Winter semester 2019/20

Semester begin (formal): Friday, 1 September 2019

Freshers Programme for 1st semester students: Tuesday, 1 October and Wednesday, 2 October 2019

Lectures begin:

  • 2nd semester and higher Monday, 30 September 2019
  • 1st semester TUT Wednesday, 2 October 2019
  • 1st semester VS und Fu Friday, 4 October 2019

Lectures end: Friday, 24 January 2020

Examination period: from Monday, 27 January until Friday, 14 February 2020

Semester break:
Monday, 23 December 2019 until Friday, 4 January 2020 (Christmas)

Semester end (formal): Saturday, 29 February 2020

Summer semester 2020

Semester begin (formal): Sunday, 1 March 2020

Freshers Programme for 1st semester students: Monday, 16 March and Tuesday, 17 March 2020

Lectures begin:

  • 2nd semester and higher Monday, 16 March 2020
  • 1st semester TUT Tuesday, 17 March 2020
  • 1st semester VS and Fu Wednesday, 18 March 2020

Lectures end: Friday, 3 July 2020

Examination period: from Monday, 6 July until Friday, 24 July 2020

Semester break:
Tuesday, 14 April 2020 (after Easter)
Tuesday, 2 June until Friday, 5 June 2020 (after Whitsun)

Semester end (formal): Monday, 31 August 2020

School holidays in Baden-Württemberg

Year   

Easter   Whitsun   Summer   Half-term/Fall

Christmas

2019    

15 - 27 Apr11 - 21 Jun29 Jul - 10 Sep28 - 30 Oct

23 Dec - 4 Jan

2020    

6 - 18 Apr2 - 13 Jun30 Jul - 12 Sep26 - 30 Oct23 Dec - 9 Jan
20216 - 10 Apr25 May - 5 Jun29 Jul - 11 Sep2 - 6 Nov23 Dec - 8 Jan
202219 - 23 Apr7 - 18 Jun28 Jul - 10 Sep2 - 4 Nov21 Dec - 7 Jan
202311 - 15 Apr30 May - 9 Jun27 Jul - 9 Sep  

                
Schools have 3 - 5 additional days of holiday at their disposal which they can take as required.